

Pre side nt

David Read MN Dept. of Agriculture 625 Robert St. N St. Paul, MN 55155-2538 (651) 201-6596 (651) 201-6119 FAX david.read @state.mn.us

President-Bect

Stephen Stich NY Dept. of Agriculture & Markets 10B Airline Dr. Albany, NY 12235 (518) 457-4492 (518) 457-8892 FAX stephen.stich@agriculture.ny.gov

Vice-President

Stan Stromberg OK Dept. of Agriculture P.O. Box 528804 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804 (405) 522-6119 (405) 522-1060 FAX Stan.stromberg @ag.ok.gov

Secretary-Treasurer

Steven Moris KS Dept. of Agriculture 109 SW 9th St., 3rd Floor Topeka, KS 66612 (785) 296-5600 (785) 296-0673 FAX steve.moris@kda.ks.gov

Executive Director

J. Joseph Corby Association of Food and Drug Officials 2550 Kingston Road, Suite 311 York, PA 17402 (518) 860-2838 (717) 650-3650 FAX jcorby@afdo.org

Association Manager

Denise C. Rooney Association of Food and Drug Officials 2550 Kingston Road, Suite 311 York, PA 17402 (717) 757-2888 (717) 650-3650 FAX drooney@afdo.org

Association of Food and Drug Officials

2550 Kingston Road, Suite 311, York, PA 17402 Telephone (717) 757-2888 • Fax (717) 650-3650 E-Mail: afdo@afdo.org • Internet: www.afdo.org

Contact:

Joseph Corby
Executive Director
Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO)
518-860-2838
www.afdo.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

THREE WOMEN RECEIVE AFDO EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS

LOUISVILLE, Ky., June 28, 2013 — Angela Indigo Davis, Breanna McArthur, and Jessica Louie were all awarded educational scholarships at the 117th AFDO Annual Educational Conference.

The George M. Burditt, Betsy B. Woodward, and Denise C. Rooney scholarships, each in the amount of \$1,500, are awarded annually to qualified undergraduate students in their third year of college.

The following qualifications and conditions have been established for the award recipients: The recipients should have demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods, drugs or consumer product safety; should have demonstrated leadership capabilities; and must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during the first two years of undergraduate study.

Angela Indigo Davis, from Detroit, Mich., is a junior attending Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University and working toward a bachelor's degree in Food Science and Technology. Davis aspires to educate children about nutrition and ultimately work for the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Breanna McArthur, from Fairfield, Calif., is a junior attending Alabama A&M University and working toward a degree in Food Science and Technology. McArthur aspires to earn a Ph.D. in Food Science.

Jessica Louie, from Middletown, N.J., is a junior attending Rutgers University, in New Brunswick, N.J., and working toward a bachelor's degree in Food Science Research Options, with a minor in Nutrition. Louie aspires to work as a product developer for the food industry.

About AFDO

The Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO), established in 1896, successfully fosters uniformity in the adoption and enforcement of science-based laws, rules and regulations regarding food, drugs, medical devices, cosmetics and product safety by either drafting regulatory rules or commenting on government proposals. By developing a broad base of support for new approaches, AFDO has become a recognized voice in determining the rules and shape of the regulatory playing field of the future. The consensus that AFDO develops is key to advancing uniform laws, regulations, and guidelines that result in more efficient regulation and less confusion among industry in the marketplace. AFDO develops support for its positions by interfacing with high-level regulatory officials, industry representatives,



Pre side nt

David Read MN Dept. of Agriculture 625 Robert St. N St. Paul, MN 55155-2538 (651) 201-6596 (651) 201-6119 FAX david.read @state.mn.us

President-Elect

Stephen Stich NY Dept. of Agriculture & Markets 10B Airline Dr. Albany, NY 12235 (518) 457-4492 (518) 457-8892 FAX stephen.stich@agriculture.ny.gov

Vice-President

Stan Stromberg OK Dept. of Agriculture P.O. Box 528804 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804 (405) 522-6119 (405) 522-1060 FAX Stan.stromberg @ag.ok.gov

Secretary-Treasurer

Seven Moris KSDept. of Agriculture 109 SW 9th St., 3rd Floor Topeka, KS 66612 (785) 296-5600 (785) 296-0673 FAX steve.moris@kda.ks.gov

Executive Director

J. Joseph Corby Association of Food and Drug Officials 2550 Kingston Road, Suite 311 York, PA 17402 (518) 860-2838 (717) 650-3650 FAX jcorby@afdo.org

Association Manager

Denise C. Rooney Association of Food and Drug Officials 2550 Kingston Road, Suite 311 York, PA 17402 (717) 757-2888 (717) 650-3650 FAX drooney@afdo.org

Association of Food and Drug Officials

2550 King ston Road, Suite 311, York, PA 17402 Telephone (717) 757-2888 • Fax (717) 650-3650 E-Mail: afdo@afdo.org • Internet: www.afdo.org

trade associations, and consumer organizations. This effort continues to have a significant impact on regulations at the federal, state and local level. For more information, visit www.afdo.org. Inquiries about AFDO can be directed to AFDO Executive Director Joseph Corby.